Big Buzz: Carrie Fisher, Kate McKinnon, John Waters Make 2017 Dorian Awards List

Big Buzz: Carrie Fisher, Kate McKinnon, John Waters Make 2017 Dorian Awards List

- in Entertainment
John Waters named 2017 'Timeless Star’
John Waters named 2017 ‘Timeless Star’

More than 170 reputable film/TV critics and entertainment journalists across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Thursday revealed their nominees for the best in film and television of 2016. The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA.orgFacebookTwitterInstagram) selected their favorite picks within 24 established categories, from mainstream to LGBTQ-focused, which included La La Land and Moonlight taking the lead with seven and six nominations, respectively.

Legendary director, actor and screenwriter John Waters (HairsprayThis Film is Not Yet RatedCry-Baby) will be presented with GALECA’s Timeless Star honor, the organization’s affectionate career-achievement honor. Past winners in this category include Sir Ian McKellen, George Takei, Lily Tomlin and Jane Fonda.

Another powerhouse nod: Carrie Fisher was nominated posthumously in GALECA’s Wilde Wit of the Year category. In the same category for consideration: Samantha Bee, Bill Maher, Kate McKinnon, and John Oliver.

Carrie Fisher arrives at the Governors Awards at the Dolby Ballroom on Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015, in Los Angeles. (Photo by Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP)
Carrie Fisher/Photo Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

GALECA’s Wilde Artist of the Year hopefuls include music icon Beyonce, decorated star Viola Davis, Barry Jenkins, Kate McKinnon, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Ryan Gosling, Denzel Washington, Thandie Newton, Donald Glover, Ruth Negga, Jeffrey Tambor, Isabelle Huppert, and Emma Stone also made the consideration cut in their respective categories.

“Our members showed a true interest in attitude, fire and meaningfulness in their Dorian nominations this year,” GALECA John Griffiths, GALECA president and Television Critic for Us Weekly. “I’m so proud to be part of this passionate, supportive and richly diverse bunch of film and TV experts.”

“This is my first year as a GALECA member, and it’s such an honor being a member,” said Awards Daily Lead Writer Jazz Tangcay. “What’s made it fun is we’re not just recognizing mainstream films, but also films across the board. This year has been a great year for film. It was tough narrowing it down, but here we are. I love the nominations.  However, I must say, I am thrilled with John Waters being honored with the Timeless Wit Award.”

Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling in 'La La Land'
Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling in ‘La La Land’

GALECA member Sarah Toce, Huffington Post contributor and publisher of The Seattle Lesbian, shared, “This year’s list of nominees is impressive and groundbreaking. Kate McKinnon, come on, I’d watch her brush her teeth and she’d probably win an award for it. So deserving, and it’s a great time to celebrate something considering the past two months have been a bit heavy around the world post-apocalyptic election.”

According to their website, “GALECA exists to bolster LGBTQ entertainment journalists as well as remind the world, and our at-risk youth, that “the gays” have a unique cultural history of putting great movies and TV shows on the trending list. Categories run the gamut, from Visually Striking Film to TV Current Affairs Show.

“I love that our nominations break the predictability mold for Hollywood’s award season,” said GALECA member Ryan Jay,, Premiere Networks, NBC-TV (Milwaukee). “There are a couple familiar contenders, but also lesser celebrated, yet worthy competitors.”

Brian T. Carney, film critic for the Washington Blade, is delighted by the nominations.

“This was a great year for movies – and for TV, too – and our slate reflects the wonderful diversity of movies – gay and straight – that came out in 2016,” Carney said. “It was amazing to see the variety that emerged in everyone’s Top Ten lists and it was wonderful to have some of my favorites make the cut. I see a lot of binge-watching in my future as I get ready to vote in the final round.”

Since its inception in 2009, GALECA’s Film of the Year winners have included CarolBoyhood, 12 Years a SlaveArgo, Weekend, I Am Love, and A Single Man.

Dorian winners will be announced Thursday, January 26, 2017. The group’s annual Winners Toast, honoring a select group of 2016-17 winners, is set for Saturday afternoon, February 18, in Los Angeles. Over the years, GALECA toasts have a welcomed a variety of Dorian winners or their ambassadors, including Oscar-nominated Carol screenwriter Phyllis Nagy, Orange is the New Blackstar Lea DeLaria, Transparent actresses Melora Hardin and Alexandra Billings, and revered marriage rights activists Jeff Carrillo and Paul Katami.

A complete list of GALECA 2016/2017 Dorian Awards nominees is located on the GALECA website.



Also On The Web

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.