KT Tunstall Confirms 2016 U.S. Tour Dates, New Album

KT Tunstall Confirms 2016 U.S. Tour Dates, New Album

- in Entertainment
KT Tunstall
KT Tunstall

Two years ago, Tunstall thought she was done with music.

“As an artist I feel like I died,” she says. “I stopped. I gave up. I didn’t want to do it anymore.”

She put her stuff in storage and bought a little house in Venice Beach, California, and enrolled in the Sundance Institute’s elite Film Composers Lab. It was a turning point in her life. Two years later, KIN was born.

Produced by Tony Hoffer (Beck, Fitz and the Tantrums, Air, M83), and written and recorded by Tunstall in L.A., the album exemplifies the very best of guitar pop.

“The truth is, I’ve finally made peace with being a pop songwriter,” Tunstall says. “This record was very much embracing my dharma as an artist, which is to write positive songs that have muscle, but also show their vulnerability.”

It has been over 10 years since Tunstall released her multi-platinum debut, Eye To The Telescope and, in KIN, Tunstall sees its full bodied and blooded follow up. The album’s new focused sound is exemplified by the teaser track “Evil Eye,” a stripped back, primal rock ‘n’ roll track that seeded the whole record. The album’s lead single “Maybe It’s A Good Thing” shows Tunstall in top form: a moment in life captured in a bright, powerful pop song with an irresistible and unforgettable melody.

The diverse collection also includes a duet with Tunstall fan James Bay, the raucous rebellion of “It Took Me So Long To Get Here, But Here I Am,” “Run On Home,” the call to arms of “Hard Girls,” and the beautiful album closer “Love Is An Ocean.”

Amazon will have limited signed copies of KIN available while supplies last. In addition, Barnes & Noble will have an exclusive, limited edition colored vinyl version of KIN, again while supplies last.

Tunstall has released five albums internationally, to date: Eye to the Telescope (2004), KT Tunstall’s Acoustic Extravaganza (2006), Drastic Fantastic (2007), Tiger Suit (2010), and Invisible Empire // Crescent Moon (2013). Her music has also figured prominently in film and television including The Devil Wear’s Prada, Grey’s Anatomy, Winter’s Tale, and many more. She has won a Brit Award, an Ivor Novello Award, and has earned both Grammy and Mercury Prize nominations.

KIN full track listing:
1. Hard Girls
2. Turned A Light On
3. Maybe It’s A Good Thing
4. Evil Eye
5. It Took Me So Long To Get Here, But Here I Am
6. On My Star
7. Two Way
8. Run On Home
9. KIN
10. Everything Has Its Shape
11. Love Is An Ocean



Also On The Web

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.