Mary Lambert Releases Independent Record ‘Bold’ May 5

Mary Lambert Releases Independent Record ‘Bold’ May 5

- in Entertainment

cec26e5be292aaa2ad9c0d9943cf6f56_originalGrammy-nominated singer-songwriter Mary Lambert has struck out on her own as an independent artist and will release her first EP, entitled Bold, on May 5. Describing the EP as “feel good queer-pop,” Lambert wrote and self-produced three of Bold’s seven tracks entirely on her own, and wrote two with hit songwriter-producer Toby Gad (Beyoncé, Demi Lovato) and Tobias Karlsson (Adam Lambert, Max Martin). A video for the first single, “Know Your Name,” will debut in April.

Last year, the Seattle-based Lambert amicably parted ways with Capitol Records and has been writing music and poems, and even a musical.

“I am grateful to be independent, and to have the pressures of making music solely for-profit out of my life,” she says. “The anxiety is gone, and I am the Unicorn Queen of my music. Bold is a collection of some of the funnest pop songs I’ve ever made. There is even a new very, very gay dancey pop song that says ‘lady’ a bunch of times.”

The EP also features her mother, Mary Kay Lambert, in a heart-warming duet.

To finance the making of Bold, Lambert launched a Kickstarter campaign, which raised over $68K and was fully funded in eight hours. Five years ago, Lambert used Kickstarter to create her debut EP, Letters Don’t Talk. Following that, she was nominated for two Grammy Awards (for “Song of the Year” and “Album of The Year”) for her contributions to Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’ “Same Love” (and made history performing on the Grammy telecast with the duo and Madonna, while Queen Latifah memorably married 33 same-sex couples).

Lambert toured for three years, won an MTV Video Music Award, released an EP (Welcome To The Age of My Body) and a full-length album (Heart On My Sleeve), spoke at the U.N. about familial safety and inclusion for LGBT youth, released a single, “Secrets,” about mental illness that reached No. 1 on the Billboard Dance Chart and was certified RIAA Gold, was honored as a chairperson for the Department of Health and Human Services for speaking about mental health. She also partnered with the National Park Service as a Centennial Ambassador and was featured in JC Penney’s groundbreaking plus-size campaign, “Here I Am.”

The track-listing for Bold is as follows:

  1. Do Anything
  2. Lay Your Head Down
  3. Hang Out With You
  4. Know Your Name
  5. I’d Be Your Wife
  6. Love is Love (ft. Mary Kay Lambert)
  7. Know Your Name (The Reverb Junkie Remix)

Lambert next appears in an episode of the CPTV original performance series The Kate, which will begin streaming at April 24 through April 28. The episode will air nationally on April 28. She is currently working on her second collection of poetry, entitled Bless This Hell.



Also On The Web

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.