Seattle Storm President Karen Bryant Inducted into Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame

Seattle Storm President Karen Bryant Inducted into Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame

- in Top News, Local
Karen Bryant/WNBA Photo

Karen Bryant has been honored by the Snohomish County Sports Commission for her contributions to the Snohomish County community as the President and CEO of the two-time WNBA Champion Seattle Storm.

“I’m honored to be inducted into the Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame and equally proud to be standing up tonight with such admirable sports figures in the 2012 class,” Bryant told the crowd on Wednesday, Sept. 26. “Considering my hometown roots in Snohomish County, it’s a great chance for me to also express my gratitude and appreciation to the community in which I grew up.”

The Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame exists to recognize and honor athletes, coaches, teams and/or special individuals, who have distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to their sport or vocation on the state, national, and/or international stage and thus have brought state, national and/or international acclaim to themselves and Snohomish County.

Bryant was inducted into the Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame with nine other sports contributors: Herm Atkins (Distance Running), Jack Nichols (Basketball), Steve Thompson (Football), Ron Gipson (Football), Tony Volpentest (Track), and Sherron Walker (Track & Field). Coaches and Administrators inducted include Dick Armstrong (Football), Nancy Snyder (Baseball) and Terry Ennis (Football). The 1940 Everett High School and 1977 Mountlake Terrace Basketball Teams were also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

WNBA Photo

The Seattle Storm clinched a ninth consecutive berth in the postseason and opened the 2012 WNBA Playoffs presented by Boost Mobile Friday, Sept. 28 at Minnesota. The game aired on ESPN2. The best-of-three series returns to Seattle on Sunday, Sept. 30 with a 6:00pm tip at KeyArena. The game will air on ESPN and tickets are available here. Game 3, if necessary, will be played on Tuesday in Minnesota.

The 2010 WNBA champion Seattle Storm is one of six independently owned teams in the WNBA, the world’s preeminent women’s professional basketball league. Established in 2000, the Storm is committed to bringing outstanding professional basketball to a diverse and rapidly growing fan base. The team also plays an active role in promoting literacy, health and fitness, support for women and girls, and youth basketball in local communities. More information is available at

Source: Seattle Storm



Also On The Web

Facebook Comments

1 Comment

  1. Are all female basketball players Gay?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.